State-by-State Minimum Coverage Requirements

All states have some form of financial responsibility laws that explicity require or make it necessary that you carry some level of automobile insurance liablity coverage. While policy coverage requirements vary from state to state, you will typically need to meet the minimum legally required level of liability coverage. Other coverages may be optional depending upon which state you reside in.

State Minimum Car Insurance Limits

Automobile Insurance Coverage: Understanding the Basics

Auto insurance coverage usually consists of the following standard coverages:

Bodily Injury (BI) Liability: Shields your assets if you’re held responsible for an auto accident in which others are injured or killed.

Property Damage (PD) Liability: Covers repairing or replacing vehicles or property of other people that you are responsible for damaging.

Uninsured Motorist (UM) Bodily Injury: Pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by an at-fault driver that is without car insurance. Depending upon policy terms, it might also cover pain and suffering and lost wages.

Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Bodily Injury Coverage: Covers you if the at-fault driver has too little auto insurance to address medical expenses arising from your auto accident-related injuries.

Medical Payments Coverage (MED or MedPay): Covers reasonable medical costs for you and your passengers due to injuries sustained in an auto accident while in your insured vehicle.

Collision (Coll): Pays to repair or replace your car if it’s damaged in an accident with another car or object, such as a tree, guardrail or fence.

Comprehensive (Comp or OTC): Is also called other-than-collision coverage because it insures your car against damage caused by something other than an auto accident. That includes theft, fire, flood, vandalism, and striking an animal.

State-by-State Mandatory Minimum Limits

The below table provides up-to-date information on each state’s minimum coverage requirements. Under column three (LIMITS), the first two figures refer to Bodily Injury liability limits, and the third figure refers to the Property Damage liability limit. For example, 25/50/10 means coverage up to $25,000 for each person injured in an accident, up to a maximum of $50,000 for the entire accident, and $10,000 worth of coverage for Property Damage. The state minimums are based on the most current information available. You should of course double check your specific state requirements to verify these figures. Do not rely on this website alone.

 

STATE

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Marylande
MAssachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

COVERAGES

BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD, UM/UIM
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD, UM
PD, PIP
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD
BI, PD, UM/UIM
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD, PIP, UM/UIM
BI, PD
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD
FRO, UM
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP, UM
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD
BI, PD, PIP
BI, PD, UM/UIM
BI, PD, UM
BI, PD
BI, PD, UM
FRO, UM
BI, PD

LIMITS

25/50/25
50/100/25
15/30/10
25/50/25
15/30/5
25/50/15
20/40/10
15/30/10
25/50/10
10/20/20 10
25/50/25
20/40/10
25/50/15
20/40/15
25/50/10
20/40/15
25/50/10
25/50/10
15/30/25
50/100/25
20/40/15
20/40/5
20/40/10
30/60/10
25/50/25
25/50/10
25/50/10
25/50/25
15/30/10
25/50/25
15/30/5
25/50/10
25/50/10
30/60/25
25/50/25
12.5/25/7.5
25/50/25
25/50/10
15/30/5
25/50/25
25/50/25
25/50/25
25/50/15
25/50/25
25/65/15
25/50/10
25/50/20
25/50/10
20/40/10
50/100/15
25/50/20

 

Are the Minimum Limits Enough?

Make sure to keep in mind that the above figures are simply the bare legally required minimums. In the vast majority of cases, it is strongly recommended that you purchase well above the minimum limits to make sure you and your family are adequately protected in the event of an accident. In other instances, you may be required to Get A FREE Car Insurance Quotepurchase coverage limits higher than the minimum limits for other reasons altogether. For example, when leasing a car, most lenders will require that you carry Bodily Injury liability limits of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. It is advised that you confirm the above state specific limits with your broker or insurance professional.